Eco Hero: Emma Biermann

May 15, 2008

This is the first of a series of short introductions to the other young people who’ll be on the Voyage to the Future program with me. The trip to the Arctic is going to be intense, and I’m sure I’ll be video blogging and writing about what the others around me are up to as well as my own journey.

So, meet Emma!

I first met Emma at Oxfam’s CHANGE Program (read my review on the Oxfam website here), and then again at university in Warwick, where she studies Politics and International Studies in the year below me.

Emma has stood in local elections for the Green Party, is very active with Greenpeace and has worked with a large amount of other campaigning and political organisations.

To me, it has always seemed as if Emma’s commitment to doing the right thing is so strong, that it physically hurts her to do wrong. I wish I was so dedicated :) She is one of the most passionate, inspiring and committed campaigners who I’ve worked with, and I am so utterly delighted that we’re going on this journey together.

What I’m looking forward to most of all, however, is that our skills are very complimentary – the things I struggle with, Emma excels in, and what she sometimes finds difficult, I’m more comfortable with.

The only thing I can say – is that with you guys behind us – we’re going to make an awesome team!

2 Responses to “Eco Hero: Emma Biermann”

  1. […] after de-stressing, I walked in to meet Emma, Alex Hartridge (Climate Change Communications Manager and the person responsible for the Voyage) […]

  2. […] after de-stressing, I walked in to meet Emma, Alex Hartridge (Climate Change Communications Manager and the person responsible for the Voyage) […]

Leave a Reply

