Eco Hero: Johannes Barthelmeß

May 25, 2008

This post is part of a series of short introductions to the other young people who’ll be on the Voyage to the Future program with me. The trip to the Arctic is going to be intense, and I’m sure I’ll be video blogging and writing about what the others around me are up to, as well as my own journey.

Johannes is one of the two young people from Germany who will be on the Arctic Voyage. He is 18 years old, in his penultimate school year and a remarkable young man.

He has initiated a number of activities in his school, including the sponsorship of a Romanian school, and interned in a parliamentarian’s office who is a member of the environment committee of the German Bundestag.

I met up with Johannes in Berlin, when he was visiting his siblings who live there, and he came across as an intelligent, humble and practical young person, committed to making the world a better place. He writes,

‘I am convinced that my generation has a strong responsibility for climate protection and I want to take part in this global initiative.’

Leave a Reply

