CHANGE ’08

September 27, 2008

In the summer of 2006, I took part in the Oxfam CHANGE program – a week-long training event for young campaigners.

It was where I met Emma, I learned how to speak to my MP and decided that a vegetarian lifestyle would allow me to seriously cut my personal carbon emissions, and therefore live within my values of sustainability and compassion.

This year, I was asked to facilitate at Change ’08. I knew it would be hard work, but it was so worth it.

Seeing 27 young people arrive with a sense of ‘wanting to do something’, and some of them having already volunteered abroad and campaigned on issues, it was awe-inspiring to see how their potential was unravelled. After four days of intensive learning and doing, these amazing young people are confident, skilled and passionate. They have so many creative ideas to address the massive issues that we have to solve, and I can’t wait to see what they do.

All too often we underestimate ourselves. This group proved that the best of us lies waiting to be untapped.

(And part of the untapping was via the Green Finger Project.)

This video is about the Change program in the US, but it does exactly the same to people in the UK – it gives them tools, it gives them a network and it gives them purpose.

Leave a Reply

